Ghulam Nabi Azad and others who left Congress in 2022

Senior leader Ghulam Nabi Azad broke all his ties with the Congress on Friday. “The Indian National Congress has lost both its will and the ability under the tutelage of the coterie that runs the AICC to fight for what is right for India,” he wrote in his five-page scathing letter to Sonia Gandhi.

Ghulam Nabi Azad

Jaiveer Shergill

Jaiveer Shergill, an advocate, left the Congress party on Wednesday. According to several media reports, Shergill had been unhappy with the party for quite some time. He said in his resignation letter, ““There are people in the offices of Rahul or Priyanka Gandhi… I don’t sing to their tunes.”

Kapil Sibal

In May, one of the core leaders of  G-23, Kapil Sibal filed his nomination as an independent canditate in Rajya Sabha. He said, ““I had resigned from the Congress party on 16 May. I am no longer a serious Congress leader.”

Sunil Jakhar

Senior-most Congress leader, Sunil Jakhar claimed that the party is facing an existential crisis as he resigned from his post back in May. On Facebook he wrote, “Goodluck and good bye to Congress party.”

Hardik Patel

“Whenever our country faced challenges and when the Congress needed leadership, Congress leaders were enjoying abroad,” said a discontent Hardik Patel as he resigned from the party in May. Only two-days after resigning from the grand old party, Patel joined the Bharatiya Janta Party.

Ashwani Kumar

Former Union Minister Ashwani Kumar announced his resignation from the Congress party in February. According to media reports, his discontention with the party came after Congress humiliated Amarinder Singh.

RPN Singh

RPN Singh stepped down from his post when Congress was preparing for its fight in Uttar Pradesh in January. He tweeted, “Today, at a time, we are celebrating the formation of our great Republic, I begin a new chapter in my political journey. Jai Hind.”

For more stories go to,